Focus Group Camera Club June 9, 2009 - Meeting Minutes

President Bob Jones opened the meeting by introducing Ken Kitchens who introduced a few visitors - Ron Benson, Bev Koerin, Charles Krumbein and Joel Klein

Cyane gave an end of the year treasurer's report stating that at the beginning of the year we had \$1833.27 and at this point at the end of the year we have \$2216.39. Two checks were outstanding.

We voted on the slate of new club officers for the 2009-2010 year and the vote was unanimous. The new officers are:

President:	Kathy Benham	
Vice President:	John Garofalo	(VP is also the program chair)
Secretary:	Denise Martin	
Treasurer:	Travis Nunn	

Al and Linda Warfield displayed the two posters they had designed and printed to advertize the present exhibit at the Science Museum of Virginia.

The program for the June meeting is traditionally a critique of club members' images (print as well as projected). Gilpin introduced this year's critiques (1) Dennis McWaters, a local professional who has had his own business since 1982, (2) Scott Elmquist, the chief photographer for Style Magazine for the past 10 years. There were three rounds of critiques, mostly projected images with a few prints – 43 images in all. This seemed like a lot of images, but Dennis and Scott did a remarkable job with their critiques, being succinct, encouraging and making positive suggestions for improvements along the way. Thanks Scott and Dennis. The club gave them a gift card to a local restaurant for their help and service.

Roundtable images were displayed from Ed Fuhr, Bob Jones, Al Warfield, Tim Slaven, Chuck Spalding and Hal Tyler.

President Bob Jones closed the meeting with thanks to all involved and especially the officers from the past year.